Research Group on Wealth and Social Inequality


The Research Group on Wealth and Social Inequality will begin in fall 2020 at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies. It is funded by the Leibniz Prize awarded to Jens Beckert.

The research group will conduct a number of projects exploring the development of wealth distribution, the influence of great wealth on politics and society, the role of foundations, processes of inheritance, the mechanisms of wealth preservation (and destruction), and the expectations and attitudes of high net worth individuals. Research on the role played by the family in the reproduction of great wealth as well as in our understanding of the development of today’s capitalist economic and social orders will be central to the projects.

The group is currently being established. A first doctoral project and a habilitation project are already underway, and the Wealth in Germany: Structures, Continuities, and Fractures subproject is seeking to appoint a postdoctoral social scientist with expertise in quantitative research for the beginning of 2021.

In due course, further doctoral and habilitation projects will be developed, investigating other questions of interest in the field of private wealth. The research focus of the projects will lie in sociology as well as political science, with a particular emphasis on historical lines of development. The projects may embrace quantitative or qualitative research designs and include comparative studies of different countries.


 


MPIfG: Research Project "Research Group on Wealth and Social Inequality" | http://www.mpifg.de/projects/leibniz-research-group/index_en.asp
[Last updated 24.08.2020 14:41]

Forschungsgruppe "Vermögen und soziale Ungleichheit"


Im Herbst 2020 startet am Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung die Forschungsgruppe „Vermögen und soziale Ungleichheit“. Sie wird aus Mitteln des Leibniz-Preises für Jens Beckert finanziert.

Die Forschungsgruppe wird sich in verschiedenen Projekten mit der Entwicklung der Vermögensverteilung, mit dem Einfluss großer Vermögen auf Politik und Gesellschaft, mit der Rolle von Stiftungen, mit Prozessen der Vermögensvererbung, mit den Mechanismen des Vermögenserhalts (und der Vermögenszerstörung) sowie mit den Erwartungen und Einstellungen vermögender Individuen befassen. Eine zentrale Bedeutung wird dabei die Erforschung der Rolle der Familie sowohl bei der Reproduktion von großen Vermögen als auch für das Verständnis der Entwicklung heutiger kapitalistischer Wirtschafts- und Gesellschaftsordnungen spielen.

Die Gruppe befindet sich derzeit im Aufbau. Erste Teilprojekte bestehen bereits, ein Promotionsprojekt sowie ein Habilitationsprojekt. Für das Teilprojekt "Reichtum in Deutschland: Strukturen, Kontinuitäten und Brüche" wird für Anfang 2021 die Besetzung einer Stelle mit einer:m promovierten quantitativ arbeitenden Sozialwissenschaftler:in angestrebt.

Zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt wird das Vorhaben um Promotions- und Habilitationsprojekte ergänzt, die sich weiteren Fragestellungen im Bereich der Vermögensforschung widmen. Die Projekte sollen sowohl soziologische als auch politikwissenschaftliche Schwerpunkte haben und insbesondere historische Entwicklungslinien verfolgen; sie können quantitative oder qualitative Forschungsdesigns aufweisen und auch Ländervergleiche beinhalten.


 


MPIfG: Projekt "Forschungsgruppe "Vermögen und soziale Ungleichheit"" | http://www.mpifg.de/projects/leibniz-research-group/index_de.asp
[Zuletzt geändert 24.08.2020 14:39]