Deutsch | Impressum   MPIfG@Twitter  MPIfG@Vimeo  RSS  Contact

Job Openings



 

Working as a researcher at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies


 
The Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies conducts basic research on the governance of modern societies. It aims to develop an empirically based theory of the social and political foundations of modern economies by investigating the interrelation between economic, social, and political action. Using primarily an institutional approach, it examines how markets and business organizations are embedded in historical, institutional, political, and cultural frameworks, how they develop, and how their social contexts change over time. The institute seeks to build a bridge between theory and policy and to contribute to political debate on major challenges facing modern societies. The research program allows for a variety of topics and methodological approaches and offers researchers at all stages of their careers the opportunity to pursue their own research in this field.
 

After your MA degree

PhD program
 
Apply for a PhD position in the International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy. The IMPRS-SPCE is a joint international doctoral program from the MPIfG and the Faculty of Management, Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Cologne, with the University of Duisburg-Essen as an associated partner. The program offers excellent research conditions to especially talented German and foreign PhD students in the fields of political science, economic sociology, and the sociology of organizations as well as modern history. In a structured program with a broad curriculum and intensive advising as well as international contacts, you will be fully funded for 42 months to work on your dissertation project.
 
Most IMPRS-SPCE alumni teach and conduct research at universities in Germany and abroad. Others work for commercial companies, in political and trade associations, and for international organizations.
 

After your PhD

Postdoctoral program
 
You can apply for our postdoctoral program up to three years after completing your PhD at a university in Germany or abroad. We offer you the opportunity to publish your research results and develop new research projects. As a postdoctoral researcher, you will work on your chosen project within the Institute's research program and actively participate in the life of the Institute. You will benefit from the Institute’s training programs and support for travel and conference organization.
 

During and after your Habilitation

Habilitation positions
Research group leader positions (MPG)
 
If you've already gained some postdoctoral experience after successfully completing your PhD, then apply for a six-year position as a Research Fellow (wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin/wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter). We will support you in your career development with an eye to your individual qualifications and project requirements.
 
We occasionally offer individual positions as Research Fellow at the MPIfG for PhD holders.
 
Experienced researchers who have (nearly) completed their Habilitation may apply for a position as Research Group Leader. Research groups are initially limited to five years, but they can be extended or made permanent (with tenure).
 

Visiting Researchers at the MPIfG

Visiting Researchers Program
Scholar in Residence
 
Enrich your academic career as a PhD student, postdoc, or senior researcher with a stay as a visiting researcher at the MPIfG. As a visiting researcher, you can concentrate entirely on your research. The MPIfG is a place where researchers from around the world can meet, discuss, and work together. The Institute offers an ideal environment to spark research ideas and build your interdisciplinary and international networks. The MPIfG views international cooperation as the most promising basis for excellent research.
 

Contact


 
Jürgen Lautwein
Administrative Director
Tel. +49 221 2767-120
Organizational structure, project areas, and management of the MPIfG:
 
Research projects
Organizational chart



MPIfG - Job Openings | http://www.mpifg.de/karriere/ausschreibungen_en.asp [Zuletzt geändert am 2017-10-16]

English | Impressum   MPIfG@Twitter  MPIfG@Vimeo  RSS  Kontakt

Ausschreibungen



 

 

Forschen am Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung



 
Das MPIfG ist eine Einrichtung der Spitzenforschung in den Sozialwissenschaften. Es betreibt anwendungsoffene Grundlagenforschung mit dem Ziel einer empirisch fundierten Theorie der sozialen und politischen Grundlagen moderner Wirtschaftsordnungen. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Untersuchung der Zusammenhänge zwischen ökonomischem, sozialem und politischem Handeln. Das Forschungsprogramm gibt Raum für eine Vielfalt an Themen und methodischen Ansätzen und bietet Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern aller Karrierestufen die Möglichkeit, in diesem Feld eigene Forschung zu verfolgen.
 

Nach dem Studium


Doktorandenprogramm
 
Bewerben Sie sich als Doktorandin oder Doktorand in der International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy. Die IMPRS-SPCE ist ein vom MPIfG und der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität zu Köln gemeinsam getragenes internationales Doktorandenprogramm mit der Universität Duisburg-Essen als assoziiertem Partner. Hier arbeiten besonders begabte deutsche und ausländische Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Politikwissenschaften, der Wirtschaftssoziologie und der Organisationssoziologie sowie der Neueren Geschichte unter exzellenten Forschungsbedingungen zusammen. In einem strukturierten Programm mit breit gefächertem Curriculum und intensiver Betreuung sowie internationalen Kontakten erhalten Sie die Möglichkeit, 42 Monate vollfinanziert an Ihrem Dissertationsprojekt zu arbeiten.
 
Das Gros der Absolventinnen und Absolventen der IMPRS-SPCE lehrt und forscht heute an Universitäten im In- und Ausland. Andere arbeiten für Wirtschaftsunternehmen, für Politik- und Wirtschaftsverbände oder für internationale Organisationen.
 

Nach der Promotion


Postdoktorandenprogramm

 
Bis zu drei Jahre nach Ihrer Promotion an einer Universität im In- oder Ausland können Sie sich im Rahmen unseres Postdoktorandenprogramms bewerben. Wir bieten Ihnen die Möglichkeit, Ihre Forschungsergebnisse zu publizieren und ein neues Forschungsvorhaben zu entwickeln. Als Postdoktorandin oder Postdoktorand arbeiten Sie einen Zeitraum von zwei Jahren an einem selbst gewählten Projekt im Rahmen des Forschungsprogramms des Instituts und nehmen aktiv am Institutsleben teil. Sie profitieren vom Weiterbildungsprogramm des MPIfG und werden von uns bei Forschungsreisen und bei der Organisation von Konferenzen unterstützt.
 

In der Habilitationsphase und danach

Habilitationsstellen
Leiterinnen und Leiter von Forschungsgruppen (MPG)

 
Sie haben nach erfolgreicher Promotion bereits erste Erfahrung als Postdoktorandin oder Postdoktorand gesammelt? Dann bewerben Sie sich um eine auf sechs Jahre angelegte Stelle als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin oder wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter. Wir unterstützen Sie in Ihrer Karriereentwicklung mit Blick auf Ihre individuelle Qualifikation und projektspezifischen Bedürfnisse.
 
Für Promovierte schreiben wir unregelmäßig einzelne Stellen als wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin oder wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am MPIfG aus.
 
Erfahrene Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit bevorstehender oder abgeschlossener Habilitation können sich darum bewerben, eine Forschungsgruppe zu leiten. Forschungsgruppen sind zunächst auf fünf Jahre befristet, können aber verlängert oder entfristet werden (Tenure-Track-Verfahren).
 

Zu Gast am MPIfG


Programm für Gastwissenschaftlerinnen und Gastwissenschaftler
Scholar in Residence
 
Bereichern Sie Ihre wissenschaftliche Laufbahn als Doktorand, Postdoktorandin oder Senior Researcher mit einem Gastaufenthalt am MPIfG, bei dem Sie sich ganz Ihrer Forschung widmen können. Am MPIfG begegnen sich Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt zum Austausch und zur Kooperation. So entstehen neue Impulse für die Forschung und Möglichkeiten zur interdisziplinären und internationalen Vernetzung. Das MPIfG betrachtet internationale Zusammenarbeit als die erfolgversprechendste Grundlage herausragender Forschung.
 

Kontakt


 
Jürgen Lautwein
Administrativer Geschäftsführer
Tel. 0221/2767-120
Übersicht über Projektbereiche, Infrastruktur und Management des MPIfG:
 
Forschungsprojekte
Organigramm


MPIfG - Ausschreibungen | http://www.mpifg.de/karriere/ausschreibungen_de.asp [Zuletzt geändert am 20.11.2017]