About the MPIfG


The Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies conducts basic research on the governance of modern societies. It aims to develop an empirically based theory of the social and political foundations of modern economies by investigating the interrelation between economic, social and political action. Using primarily an institutional approach, it examines how markets and business organizations are embedded in historical, institutional, political and cultural frameworks, how they develop, and how their social contexts change over time. The institute seeks to build a bridge between theory and policy and to contribute to political debate on major challenges facing modern societies.
 

Who decides what the MPIfG will investigate?

The research program is determined by the directors of the institute. Within the guidelines of the Max Planck Society, the directors are free to choose their research projects. Some forty to fifty researchers, including research staff, doctoral students, scholarship recipients, visiting researchers and researchers in grant-funded projects work together in teams that are often international. Researchers at the institute participate in research planning and develop their own projects in this context. The MPIfG does not do contract research.
 

Research is dialogue

The MPIfG considers international cooperation to be the most productive organizational form of comparative research. Many visiting researchers make valuable contributions to its research program. The MPIfG is part of a worldwide network of research institutions and researchers in the social sciences. It cooperates closely with several research institutes abroad.
 

Graduate training enriches research

Doctoral students are an integral part of the MPIfG’s research environment. The institute is home to the International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE), which is run jointly by the MPIfG and the Department of Management, Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Cologne. Offering excellent research conditions and a structured doctoral program focusing on economic sociology and comparative political economy, with a special interest in organization studies and economic and social history, the School prepares outstanding German and international graduate students for a career in academia. While many alumni do successfully pursue university careers, others have gone on to work in the private sector, government, associations, and international organizations.
 

Who evaluates the Institute's research?

The Scientific Advisory Board of the MPIfG, an independent commission made up of scholars from different countries, convenes every two years to evaluate the methods and results of the MPIfG's research. It also advises the directors regarding the development of new research areas. The institute's contact with the public is enhanced by its Board of Trustees, which is made up of representatives of government, business, associations, and the media.
 

Research results are easily accessible

The institute uses its website, www.mpifg.de, to present its current research projects and the research staff to the general public. The website also provides news and information about events and job openings. Research results are another major part of the website. Visitors to the site have easy access to recent publications by the institute and its researchers, publications since the MPIfG's founding and a large number of downloadable documents. The MPIfG has four publication series:
  • MPIfG Books are monographs aimed at a wide professional readership;
  • MPIfG Discussion Papers are articles reporting on current projects or featuring the work of a visiting researcher. They are usually subsequently published in scholarly journals;
  • The MPIfG Journal Articles series features articles by MPIfG researchers and visiting scholars published in peer-reviewed journals.

The interested public is also informed about the institute's work through its yearbook, its biennial report, informational material, workshops for practitioners, and events and mailings aimed at journalists. Public lectures given by the research staff and visiting researchers and seminars for high-school students give local residents an opportunity to come to the institute and learn about its work.
 

Facts and figures

The MPIfG was founded under the directorship of Renate Mayntz in 1985. It is one of the smaller research units of the Max Planck Society (MPS), which has some eighty institutes conducting basic research in several disciplines. Most of them are devoted to research in the natural sciences, but there are also a number of institutes working in the human and social sciences. With a 1.4 billion euro annual budget, the Max Planck Society is one of the largest non-university research organizations in Germany. Some eighty percent of the Society's funds are provided publicly by federal and state governments. The annual budget of the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies is presently 4.4 million euros.
 
The institute has 32 full-time positions for researchers and service staff, and some 33 positions for doctoral students and post-doctoral researchers. Additional funding is acquired from the German federal government, the European Union, private funding organizations and foundations.
 
The Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies has a library with some 300,000 items including monographs, articles from edited volumes, and journal articles. It subscribes to 190 periodicals. The library offers online access to its own catalog and a wide range of specialized databases. A state-of-the-art infrastructure ensures optimal international connectivity for the institute's researchers and administration. The MPIfG also provides vocational training to three apprentices working in office communication and information technology.
 


Media and
Public Relations Contact


 
Christel Schommertz
Tel. 0221 2767-130

 
For the Media



MPIfG - Institute | http://www.mpifg.de/institut/institut_en.asp [Last updated 10.11.2014 18:26]

Institut

Das Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung ist eine Einrichtung der Spitzenforschung in den Sozialwissenschaften. Es betreibt anwendungsoffene Grundlagenforschung mit dem Ziel einer empirisch fundierten Theorie der sozialen und politischen Grundlagen moderner Wirtschaftsordnungen. Im Mittelpunkt steht die Untersuchung der Zusammenhänge zwischen ökonomischem, sozialem und politischem Handeln. Mit einem vornehmlich institutionellen Ansatz wird erforscht, wie Märkte und Wirtschaftsorganisationen in historisch-institutionelle, politische und kulturelle Zusammenhänge eingebettet sind, wie sie entstehen und wie sich ihre gesellschaftlichen Kontexte verändern. Das Institut schlägt eine Brücke zwischen Theorie und Politik und leistet einen Beitrag zur politischen Diskussion über zentrale Fragen moderner Gesellschaften.

Wer stellt die Forschungsfragen des MPIfG?

Die Direktoren am MPIfG entscheiden über das Forschungsprogramm des Instituts. Sie sind innerhalb eines von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft festgelegten Rahmens bei der Auswahl und Verwirklichung ihrer Forschungsvorhaben frei und unabhängig. Zwischen vierzig und fünfzig am MPIfG beschäftigte wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter, Doktoranden, Stipendiaten, Gastwissenschaftler und Projektmitarbeiter sind in oft international zusammengesetzten Forscherteams tätig. Sie sind in die Forschungsplanung einbezogen und entwickeln in deren Rahmen eigene Projekte. Das MPIfG betreibt keine Auftragsforschung.

Forschen ist Dialog

Das MPIfG betrachtet internationale Zusammenarbeit als die aussichtsreichste organisatorische Form vergleichender Forschung. Zahlreiche Gastwissenschaftler bereichern das Forschungsprogramm. Das MPIfG ist Teil eines weltweiten Netzwerkes von Forschungsinstitutionen und Wissenschaftlern in den Sozialwissenschaften. Es unterhält enge Kooperationsbeziehungen zu einer Reihe von Instituten mit vergleichbaren Forschungsschwerpunkten.

Nachwuchswissenschaftler bereichern die Forschung

Wichtiger Bestandteil der wissenschaftlichen Arbeit am MPIfG sind die Forschungsprojekte junger Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE). Die Doktorandenschule verbindet Wirtschaftssoziologie und politische Ökonomie mit Wirtschafts- und Sozialgeschichte sowie Organisationsforschung. Im Rahmen eines strukturierten, interdisziplinären Programms und unter exzellenten Forschungsbedingungen bereitet sie besonders begabte deutsche und ausländische Nachwuchswissenschaftler auf die Promotion vor. Das Gros der Absolventinnen und Absolventen der IMPRS-SPCE lehrt und forscht heute an Universitäten im In- und Ausland. Andere arbeiten für Wirtschaftsunternehmen, für Politik- und Wirtschaftsverbände oder für internationale Organisationen. Träger der IMPRS-SPCE sind das MPIfG und die Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftliche Fakultät der Universität zu Köln.

Wer bewertet die Arbeit des Instituts?

Der Fachbeirat des MPIfG, eine international besetzte, unabhängige wissenschaftliche Evaluierungskommission, begutachtet die Forschungsarbeit und ihre Ergebnisse alle zwei Jahre. Er berät die Direktoren bei der Planung neuer Forschungsschwerpunkte. Die Verbindung zur Öffentlichkeit sichert ein Kuratorium mit Repräsentanten aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Verbänden und Medien.

Forschungsergebnisse - sichtbar für alle

Auf seiner Website www.mpifg.de informiert das Institut über seine aktuellen Forschungsprojekte und stellt die am Institut arbeitenden Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler vor. Ferner finden sich dort Nachrichten, Hinweise auf Veranstaltungen und Ausschreibungen. Ein großer Bereich der Website ist den Veröffentlichungen des Instituts gewidmet. Alle aktuellen Publikationen und die der vergangenen Jahre sind hier verzeichnet und werden zu einem großen Teil als frei abrufbare Dokumente angeboten. Das Institut gibt vier Publikationsreihen heraus:
  • MPIfG Bücher sind Monographien, die sich an ein breites Fachpublikum wenden;
  • MPIfG Discussion Papers sind Aufsätze aus laufenden Projekten oder von Gastwissenschaftlern, die in der Regel später in Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht werden;
  • In der Reihe MPIfG Journal Articles erscheinen Aufsätze von Wissenschaftlern des MPIfG online, die zuvor in wissenschaftlichen Fachzeitschriften mit Peer-Review-Verfahren veröffentlicht wurden.

Ein Jahrbuch, Informationsmaterialien, Praktiker-Workshops und Angebote für Journalisten geben einem breiteren Fachpublikum Einblick in die Forschungsarbeit des Instituts. Mit öffentlichen Vortragsreihen und Exkursionstagen für Schulklassen sowie einer jährlichen Kunstausstellung öffnet sich das MPIfG auch einem breiteren, nichtfachlichen Publikum.

Zahlen und Daten

Das MPIfG wurde 1985 unter Leitung von Renate Mayntz gegründet. Es gehört zu den kleineren der etwa achtzig Forschungseinrichtungen der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG), die vor allem in den Natur-, aber auch in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften Grundlagenforschung betreibt. Mit einem Jahresetat von derzeit 1,4 Milliarden Euro gehört die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zu den größten außeruniversitären Forschungsorganisationen Deutschlands. Die MPG finanziert sich zu etwa achtzig Prozent aus öffentlichen Mitteln von Bund und Ländern. Dazu kommen Einnahmen aus Mitgliedschaftsbeiträgen, Spenden, Projektförderung und eigenen Erträgen. Der Jahresetat des Max-Planck-Instituts für Gesellschaftsforschung liegt derzeit bei 4,4 Millionen Euro.
 
Das Institut hat 31 Planstellen für wissenschaftliche und nichtwissenschaftliche Beschäftigte sowie Fördermittel für etwa 25 Doktoranden und Postdoktoranden. Weitere Stellen werden über Sonderprogramme des Bundes, der EU und anderer Projektträger und durch Projektmittel finanziert.
 
Das Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung hat eine eigene Bibliothek mit etwa 260.000 Titeln (Monographie- und Aufsatzliteratur) und 180 Fachzeitschriften. Elektronische Recherchemöglichkeiten in den Beständen der Institutsbibliothek und in externen Literaturdatenbanken ergänzen das Angebot. Eine leistungsfähige Infrastruktur liefert die Arbeitsmittel für Forschung und Organisation und sichert die internationale Konnektivität. Das MPIfG bietet drei Lehrstellen für Auszubildende in den Bereichen Bürokommunikation und EDV.


Ansprechpartnerin für Medien und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit ist
 
Christel Schommertz
Tel. 0221 2767-130

 
Pressestelle
KWR-Logo
Das MPIfG ist Mitglied der
Kölner Wissenschaftsrunde



MPIfG - Institut | http://www.mpifg.de/institut/institut_de.asp [Zuletzt geändert am 10.11.2014 18:26]