Research Group on Wealth and Social Inequality


 
The Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies (MPIfG) in Cologne is seeking to appoint a

Postdoctoral Social Scientist in the Field of Private Wealth Research

for a project led by Professor Jens Beckert. The project is funded by the Leibniz Prize of the German Research Foundation (DFG). The starting date for the position is January 1, 2021, or by agreement. More information about the “Wealth in Germany: Structures, Continuities, and Fractures” project can be found on this website.

The successful candidate is expected to have a background in quantitative research, an excellent PhD in Sociology, Political Science, or Economics, a publication record appropriate for an early-career researcher, an outstanding knowledge of quantitative methods and database building, and an excellent command of German and English. Opportunities exist for the holder of the position to work on a habilitation and to teach within the Inter­national Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE).

The position is initially limited to three years in accordance with the German Fixed-term Employment in Higher Education and Research Act (WissZeitVG), but there is an option to extend by a further three years following a positive mid-term evaluation. Pay and benefits are in accordance with the German public service wage agreement (TVöDBund). The Max Planck Society is committed to improving the opportunities for women in science and explicitly encourages women to apply. We support our employees in achieving work and family life balance. We are also committed to employing more people with disabilities and encourage such applicants to apply.

The closing date for applications is November 1, 2020. Please apply online by going to the Application and Registration form and uploading a two-page statement of your interest in the research topic and in this project specifically, your CV, copies of your certificates, a list of publications, a journal article of your choosing, and the names and addresses of two referees. Please upload the files in a single PDF document.

Download PDF of the job opening
 
Contact
Dr. Ursula Trappe

Head of Aministration


 

 

 

 

 


MPIfG: Research Project "Research Group on Wealth and Social Inequality" | http://www.mpifg.de/projects/leibniz-research-group/jobs_en.asp
[Zuletzt geändert 25.08.2020 17:29]

Forschungsgruppe "Vermögen und soziale Ungleichheit"


 
Das Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung (MPIfG) in Köln sucht eine_n

Promovierte_n Sozialwissenschaftler_in im Bereich Vermögensforschung

für ein Forschungsprojekt unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Jens Beckert. Das Projekt wird mit Mitteln des Leibniz-Preises der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) gefördert. Die Position ist zum 1. Januar 2021 oder nach Absprache zu besetzen. Informationen zum Projekt "Reichtum in Deutschland: Strukturen, Kontinuitäten und Brüche" finden Sie auf dieser Website.

Voraussetzungen für eine erfolgreiche Bewerbung sind ein quantitativer Arbeitsschwerpunkt, eine hervorragend abgeschlossene Promotion in Soziologie, Politik- oder Wirtschaftswissenschaft, erste Publikationen, ausgezeichnete Kenntnisse im Bereich quantitativer Methoden und dem Aufbau von Datenbanken sowie hervorragende Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse. Es besteht die Möglichkeit zur Habilitation und zur Lehre im Rahmen der Inter­national Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE).

Die Stelle ist zunächst auf drei Jahre nach dem WissZeitVG befristet, mit einer Option auf Verlängerung um weitere drei Jahre nach einer positiven Zwischenevaluation. Entgelt und Sozialleistungen richten sich nach dem Tarifvertrag des öffentlichen Dienstes (TVöD-Bund). Die Max-Planck-Gesellschaft will den Anteil von Frauen in der Wissenschaft erhöhen, bietet allen Beschäftigten familienfreundliche Arbeitsbedingungen und ist nach dem audit berufundfamilie zertifiziert. Wir haben uns zum Ziel gesetzt, mehr schwerbehinderte Menschen zu beschäftigen.

Bitte bewerben Sie sich bis zum 1. November 2020 online über unser Bewerberportal mit einer zweiseitigen Darlegung Ihres Interesses an dem Forschungsthema und spezifisch an diesem Projekt, Ihrem Lebenslauf, Zeugniskopien, einer Publikationsliste, einem ausgewählten Zeitschriftenartikel und der Angabe von zwei Namen mit Adressen für Referenzen, zusammengefasst in einem PDF-Dokument.

Download PDF der Ausschreibung
 
Kontakt
Dr. Ursula Trappe

Verwaltungsleitung


 

 

 

 

 


MPIfG: Projekt "Forschungsgruppe "Vermögen und soziale Ungleichheit"" | http://www.mpifg.de/projects/leibniz-research-group/jobs_de.asp
[Zuletzt geändert 25.08.2020 17:29]