Close window
 Researchers at the MPI for the Study of Societies

Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Fritz W. Scharpf

Prof. em. Dr. Dr. h.c. Fritz W. Scharpf
Emeritus Director
Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies
Paulstr. 3 | 50676 Cologne | Germany
Phone: +49 221 2767-204
Fax: +49 221 2767-555

Personal homepage

Research Interests

Political Economy of European integration; European Monetary Union; multi-level government in Germany and the EU; democratic theory

Research Projects

Selected Publications

Scharpf, Fritz W. 2017. "De-Constitutionalisation and Majority Rule: A Democratic Vision for Europe." European Law Journal 23 (5): 315-334  
Scharpf, Fritz W. 2015. "After the Crash: A Perspective on Multilevel European Democracy." European Law Journal 21 (3): 384-405.  
Scharpf, Fritz W. 2010. Community and Autonomy: Institutions, Policies and Legitimacy in Multilevel Europe. Frankfurt: Campus.  
Scharpf, Fritz W., and Vivian A. Schmidt (eds.). 2000. Welfare and Work in the Open Economy. Oxford: Oxford University Press.  
Scharpf, Fritz W. 1999. Governing in Europe: Effective and Democratic?. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1999 (German and Italian editions 1999; French edition 2000).  
Scharpf, Fritz W. 1997. Games Real Actors Play: Actor-Centered Institutionalism in Policy Research. Boulder: Westview (German edition: Interaktionsformen Leske + Budrich, 2000).
All Publications ...


2003-present Emeritus Director, Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies, Cologne
1986-2003 Director at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies, Cologne
1973-1984 Director of the International Institute of Management at Wissenschaftszentrum für Sozialforschung (WZB), Berlin
1968-1974 Full Professor of Political Science at the University of Konstanz
1964-1966 Assistant Professor, Yale Law School
1964 Dr. jur. and bar exam, University of Freiburg
1961 LL.M. (Master of Laws), Yale Law School
1959 First law degree, University of Freiburg


Awards and Honors (Selected)

2018: Daniel Elazar Distinguished Federalism Scholar Award, American Political Science Association (APSA)  
2016: Juan Linz Preis, International Political Science Association (IPSA)  
2010: First Prize of the Fritz Thyssen foundation  
2008: Honorary Doctorate, European University Institute, Florence  
2007: Science Prize of the Stifterverband, a joint initiative of German industries to promote science and higher education  
2007: Lifetime Contribution Award in EU Studies from the European Union Studies Association  
2004: Bielefeld Science Award  
2004: Great Cross of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany  
2003: Honorary Doctorate, Humboldt University Berlin  
2002: Schader Prize  
2000: Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science, University of Uppsala  
Honorary Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences  
Member of the British Academy (for the Humanities and the Social Sciences)  
Honorary Fellow of the Society for the Advancement of Socio-Economics (SASE)

Close window