Institution Building across Borders


 

Overview
 



Trajectories of Transnational Governance

Sigrid Quack


This project starts from the assumption that the transnational sphere is fertile ground for studying how institutions emerge and evolve in the face of strategic uncertainty, polyarchy, and a multiplicity of actors with different goals. Given such common conditions, why do transnational governance fields display highly differentiated trajectories in terms of their organizational forms and relational actor configurations? Why are there such varying degrees of democratic participation, public accountability, and institutional effectiveness? The project aims to develop a theoretical framework that focuses on the initial design, contestation, and responsiveness of governance organizations as well as on their relation to other actors within a specific field of rule-making. This conceptual work builds on a comparison of longitudinal studies on four fields, chosen to provide maximum variance in political salience and technical complexity: accounting standards, copyright rules, forest certification, and labor standards. The aim is to develop a theoretical typology of trajectories which are located on a continuum from monopolistic to pluralistic participation in governance.
Project duration: April 2012 to December 2015.
 
Quack, Sigrid (2012): Regime complexity and expertise in transnational governance: Strategizing on regulatory uncertainty. Paper presented at the Onati Workshop on Law, Contestation, and Power in the Global Political Economy 7-8 June 2012.
 
Malets, Olga and Sigrid Quack (2012): Projecting the Local into the Global: Trajectories of Participation in Transnational Standard-Setting. Available on SSRN. Forthcoming in: Gili Drori, Markus Höllerer and Peter Walgenbach (eds.): Organizations and Managerial Ideas: Global Themes and Local Variations. London: Routledge.

 

Global-Local Interaction in Cross-Border Governance

Sigrid Quack and Olga Malets (Technische Universität München)


Transnational institutional development, by definition, involves interaction between a diverse range of actors who are situated in local as well as global fields of action. This project addresses how different types of global–local interaction, such as trickle-down and trickle-up effects or recursive feedback, shape governance trajectories. The aim is to develop a theoretical framework to synthesize results from the research groups’ longitudinal and multi-level analyses in different governance fields. These fields include: accounting standards, copyright and patent regulation, forest certification, conservation rules, labor standards, and microfinance. Empirical studies of these fields are to be published in an edited volume.
Project duration: April 2012 to July 2014.
 
Malets, Olga (2011): From Transnational Voluntary Standards to Local Practices: A Case Study of Forest Certification in Russia. MPIfG Discussion Paper 11/7.
 
Malets, Olga and Sigrid Quack (2012): Projecting the Local into the Global: Trajectories of Participation in Transnational Standard-Setting. Available on SSRN. Forthcoming in: Gili Drori, Markus Höllerer and Peter Walgenbach(eds.): Organizations and Managerial Ideas: Global Themes and Local Variations. London: Routledge.

 

Elites on Trial? The Design of Institutions, Industries, and Organizations 

Sigrid Quack, with Glenn Morgan (Cardiff Business School) and Paul Hirsch (Northwestern University)


The international financial and European sovereign debts crises have resulted in a challenge to the power of economic and political elites. Against this background, this project critically engages with C. Wright Mills’ work on the power elite. Mills saw US society in the 1950s as being ruled by elitist circles who occupied power positions in large organizational bureaucracies located inside the power triangle of the economy, military, and politics. But over the past two decades, globalization, liberalization politics, and financialization have weakened elite networks spanning large corporations. This raises a number of questions about the relationships between elites and institutional design. What is the effect on power elites when national bureaucracies are being replaced by global networks and market relations? To what extent are elites still forming and reproducing within national contexts, and to what extent is a global elite emerging? In what ways do elites shape the design and development of national and international institutions and organizations, and to what degree are these being used to strategically influence industry? Finally, what organizational resources do elites use to maintain and defend their power in the face of crisis, challenges, and resistance from other groups in society, and what resources are their opponents able to mobilize? These questions were discussed by a group of 20 scholars from the US, Europe, Israel, and Asia at the EGOS Colloquium in Helsinki in July 2012. An edited volume of selected papers is currently being prepared and will be published as part of the “Sociology of Organizations” series.
Project duration: July 2012 to February 2015.

 

Microfinance: Narratives, Governmentalities, and Materialities of Financialization

Philip Mader


The financialization of capitalism is a transnational social fact and historical trend affecting societies around the globe. But little attention has been paid to its intricacies and subtleties in areas such as the proliferation of microfinance. Microfinance is driving the expansion of financial markets into the slums and villages of the “Global South” – who then become integrated into transnational capital circuits. Microfinance constructs social problems as financial problems and gives moral urgency to market expansion by promising “empowerment” through debt. This clearly reveals the mobilizing narratives that underlie financialization. The mechanisms and effects of governmentality produced in financial market relations can be examined through those credit linkages which instill discipline while opening up new channels of surplus extraction. This project aims to add to the social-scientific analysis of money, credit, and debt by examining the functioning of financial markets in modern capitalism as revealed by the logics and techniques underlying microfinance. It applies theories from political economy and economic sociology, and builds on case studies concerning the expansion and limits of microfinance.
Project duration: June 2012 to March 2014.
 
Klas, Gerhard/Philip Mader: Rendite machen und Gutes tun? Mikrokredite und die Folgen neoliberaler Entwicklungspolitik. Frankfurt: Campus (to be published in 2014).

 



MPIfG: Research Group Institution Building across Borders | http://www.mpifg.de/projects/govxborders/research_projects_ongoing_en.asp [Last updated 25.03.2014 17:16]

Institution Building across Borders


 

Überblick
 

  • Trajektorien transnationaler Governance (Quack)
  • Global-lokale Interaktionen in grenzüberschreitender Governance (Quack/Malets)
  • Eliten auf Probe? Das Design von Institutionen, Industrien und Organisationen (Quack/Morgan/Hirsch)
  • Mikrofinanz und Finanzialisierung: Narrative, Gouvernementalität, Akkumulation (Mader)

     

    Trajektorien transnationaler Governance

    Sigrid Quack


    Wie bilden sich Institutionen unter Rahmenbedingungen von strategischer Unsicherheit, Polyarchie und einer Vielfalt von Akteuren mit unterschiedlichen Zielen heraus und wie entwickeln sie sich? Warum weisen transnationale Governancefelder unter diesen weitverbreiteten Bedingungen dennoch sehr unterschiedliche Trajektorien im Hinblick auf Organisationsformen und Akteursrelationen auf? Weshalb werden demokratische Teilhabe, öffentliche Rechenschaftspflicht und institutionelle Effektivität in so unterschiedlichem Maße verwirklicht? In dem Projekt soll ein theoretischer Analyserahmen entwickelt werden, welcher das ursprüngliche Design, soziale Konflikte und die Reaktionsfreudigkeit von Governanceorganisationen ebenso wie ihr Verhältnis zu anderen Akteuren im jeweiligen Problemfeld im Zeitverlauf berücksichtigt. Die konzeptionelle Arbeit baut auf vergleichenden Längsschnittstudien auf, welche von Mitgliedern der Forschungsgruppe in vier Governancefeldern durchgeführt wurden, die sich im Hinblick auf politische Wichtigkeit und technische Komplexität unterscheiden: Rechnungslegungsstandards , Urheberrechtsregeln, Waldzertifizierung und Arbeitsstandards. Es soll eine theoretische Typologie von Trajektorien entwickelt werden, die auf einem Kontinuum zwischen monopolistischer und pluralistischer Governance angesiedelt sind.
    Projektdauer: April 2012 bis Dezember 2015.
     
    Quack, Sigrid (2013): Regime Complexity and Expertise in Transnational Governance: Strategizing in the Face of Regulatory Uncertainty. In: Oñati Socio-Legal Series 3(4): 647-678.
     
    Dobusch, Leonhard/Philip Mader/Sigrid Quack, eds. (2013): Governance across Borders: Transnational Fields and Transversal Themes. Berlin: Epubli.

     

    Global-lokale Interaktionen in grenzüberschreitender Governance

    Sigrid Quack und Olga Malets (Technische Universität München)


    Transnationale Institutionenentwicklung beinhaltet per Definition Interaktionen zwischen vielfältigen Akteuren, die in lokalen und globalen Handlungsfeldern situiert sind. Das Projekt untersucht, wie verschiedene Formen von Wechselwirkungen zwischen globaler und lokaler Ebene, wie etwa Trickle-Down-, Trickle-Up- oder Rückkopplungseffekte, Trajektorien transnationaler Governance beeinflussen. Es soll ein theoretischer Analyserahmen für die Synthese von Forschungsergebnissen der Forschungsgruppe, die auf Längsschnitt- und Mehrebenenanalysen in verschiedenen Governancefeldern basieren, erarbeitet werden. Zu diesen Feldern zählen Rechnungslegungsstandards, urheber- und patentrechtliche Regulierung, Waldzertifizierung, Naturschutzbestimmungen, Arbeitsstandards und Mikrofinanz. Es ist geplant, einen Herausgeberband mit empirischen Beiträgen, welche die global-lokalen Interaktionen in diesen Feldern untersuchen, zu veröffentlichen.
    Projektdauer: April 2012 bis Juli 2014.
     
    Malets, Olga, 2011: From Transnational Voluntary Standards to Local Practices: A Case Study of Forest Certification in Russia. MPIfG Discussion Paper 11/7. Cologne: Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies.
     
    Malets, Olga/ Sigrid Quack, 2013: Projecting the Local into the Global: Trajectories of Participation in Transnational Standard-setting. In: Gili Drori, Markus Höllerer, Markus and Peter Walgenbach (eds.): Global Themes and Local Variations in Organization and Management. Perspectives on Glocalization. London: Routledge, 325-338.
    Available on SSRN
     
    Malets, Olga, 2013: The Translation of Transnational Voluntary Standards into Practices: Civil Society and the Forest Stewardship Council in Russia. In: Journal of Civil Society, 9(3): 300-324.

     

    Eliten auf Probe? Das Design von Institutionen, Industrien und Organisationen

    Sigrid Quack mit Glenn Morgan (Cardiff Business School) und Paul Hirsch (Northwestern University)


    Im Zuge der internationalen Finanz- und der europäischen Staatschuldenkrise wird die Machtposition wirtschaftlicher und politischer Eliten zunehmend kritisch hinterfragt. Vor diesem Hintergrund setzt sich dieses Projekt kritisch mit C. Wright Mills Arbeiten zur Machtelite auseinander. Mills sah die USA in den 1950er Jahre regiert von elitären Zirkeln, die Machtpositionen in großen bürokratischen Organisationen im Machtdreieck von Wirtschaft, Militär und Politik einnahmen. Globalisierung, Liberalisierungspolitiken und Finanzialisierung haben jedoch in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten zur Schwächung von Elitenetzwerken zwischen den großen Unternehmen geführt. Dies wirft eine Reihe von Fragen zum Verhältnis von Eliten und Institutionenbildung auf. Was bedeutet es für Machteliten, wenn vorwiegend nationale Unternehmensbürokratien durch globale Netzwerke und Marktbeziehungen ersetzt werden? In wieweit formieren und reproduzieren sich Eliten nach wie vor im Kontext nationalstaatlich verfasster Gesellschaften und in welchem Umfang kommt es zur Herausbildung einer globalen Elite? Auf welche Weise prägen Eliten das Design und die Entwicklung nationaler und internationaler Institutionen und Organisationen, und in wieweit werden diese strategisch zur Beeinflussung von Industrien benutzt? Schließlich, welche organisatorischen Ressourcen nutzen Eliten um ihre Machtposition aufrechtzuerhalten und sie angesichts von Krisen, Kritik und Widerstand anderer gesellschaftlicher Gruppen zu verteidigen? Welche organisatorischen Ressourcen können ihre Kritiker mobilisieren? Diese Fragen wurden im Rahmen eines Sub-themes auf dem EGOS Kolloquium im Juli 2012 in Helsinki von einer Gruppe von 20 Wissenschaftlern aus den USA, Europa, Israel und Asien behandelt. Derzeit wird die Veröffentlichung einer Auswahl dieser Beiträge in einem Sammelband in der Reihe „Sociology of Organizations” vorbereitet.
    Projektdauer: Juli 2012 bis Februar 2015.

     

    Mikrofinanz und Finanzialisierung: Narrative, Gouvernementalität, Akkumulation

    Philip Mader


    Die Finanzialisierung des Kapitalismus ist eine transnationale soziale Tatsache, die sich in Gesellschaften über den Globus verteilt bemerkbar macht. Den subtileren Prozessen dieses Phänomens, wie der Verbreitung der Mikrofinanzierung, wurde jedoch bisher wenig Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt. Durch die Mikrofinanzierung haben sich die Finanzmärkte bis in die Slums und Dörfer des "globalen Südens" ausgeweitet und diese in transnationale Kapitalkreisläufe integriert. Das System der Mikrofinanzierung versteht soziale Probleme als Probleme der Finanz, während das Versprechen einer stärkeren Selbstbestimmung ("empowerment") nur durch Schulden dieser Ausweitung der Finanzmärkte eine moralische Dringlichkeit verleiht. Dies wiederum belegt die Bedeutung mobilisierender Narrative in der Finanzialisierung. Die in Finanzmarktverhältnissen produzierte Gouvernementalität wird mithilfe der durch die Kreditbeziehungen entstehenden Disziplinierung und Mehrwertakkumulation sichtbar. Ziel des Projekts ist, die sozialwissenschaftliche Analyse von Geld, Kredit und Schulden durch eine Untersuchung der Funktionsweise von Finanzmärkten im modernen Kapitalismus unter Einbeziehung der Logik und Techniken der Mikrofinanzierung zu ergänzen. Die Studie wendet Theorien aus der politischen Ökonomie und der Wirtschaftssoziologie auf Fallstudien im Rahmen der Ausweitung und Grenzen der Mikrofinanzierung an.
    Projektdauer: Juni 2012 bis März 2014.
     
    Klas, Gerhard/Philip Mader: Rendite machen und Gutes tun? Mikrokredite und die Folgen neoliberaler Entwicklungspolitik. Frankfurt: Campus (erscheint 2014).
     

     



MPIfG: Research Group Institution Building across Borders | http://www.mpifg.de/projects/govxborders/research_projects_ongoing_de.asp [Last updated 25.03.2014 18:16]