Research Group "Institution Building across Borders"


 

News

 

// Congratulations! Amy A. Quark received the Best Scholarly Book Award 2014 by the Global and Transnational Sociology Section of the American Sociology Association for her book Global Rivalries: Standards Wars and the Transnational Cotton Trade. The Sociology of Development Section also awarded the book with honorable mention.

 

// We say good-bye to Carsten Gerards. He supported the research group as student assistant for two years. Among many other things, he administered this website. We would like to express our thanks for the untiring efforts and wish him all the best for the future!

 

// Further good news: Leonhard Dobusch and Jacob Kapeller received the Carolyn Dexter Award for Best International Paper at the Academy of Management 2013 with a paper on “Open Strategy between Crowd and Community: Lessons from Wikimedia and Creative Commons”.

 

// We congratulate our research group member Philip Mader on his second great award for his dissertation "Financializing Poverty: The Transnational Political Economy of Microfinance's Rise and Crisis". He is the 2013 recipient of the Körber Foundation’s German Thesis Award in Social Science (Deutscher Studienpreis).

 

// After six years as head of our research group Sigrid Quack has accepted a professorship from the University of Duisburg-Essen and is to take up the Chair of Sociology from October 2013. She will continue to work on her current projects as a research associate of the MPIfG.
Best wishes for her future from all of us!

 

// Congratulations to our research group member Ana Alfinito Vieira! She has been elected new Phd representaive (together with Isabella Reichert) by the Phd students of the MPIfG.

 

// We are proud to announce the publication of our blogbook "Governance across Borders - Transnational Fields and Transversal Themes". This volume is a structured and revised collection of the most important and most discussed entries on our reserach group blog over the last years. Further information and the links to e-book and free acess version are available here.

 

// Philip Mader has won an Otto Hahn Medal for his dissertation “Financialising Poverty: The Transnational Political Economy of Microfinance’s Rise and Crisis”. The medal is awarded annually by the Max Planck Society in recognition of outstanding scientific achievement in both natural and social sciences!

 

// Sabrina Zajak has been elected vice chair of the Association for Protest and Social Movement Studies. The association supports and gives advice to the establishment of The Institute for Protest and Social Movement Studies in Berlin.
Congratulations and Good Luck!

 



MPIfG: Research Group Institution Building across Borders | http://www.mpifg.de/projects/govxborders/projects_en.asp [Last updated 16.06.2014 14:35]

Forschungsgruppe "Grenzüberschreitende Institutionenbildung"


 

Aktuelles

 

// Für den Artikel "Framing standards, mobilizing users: Copyright versus fair use in transnational regulation" im Review of International Political Economy ehrte die Jury des Vereins der Freunde und Ehemaligen des Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung Leonard Dobusch und Sigrid Quack mit dem diesjährigen Zeitschriftenpreis. Erneut gratulieren wir erfreut!

 

// Herzlichen Glückwunsch! Amy A. Quark erhielt den Best Scholarly Book Award 2014 der Sektion Global and Transnational Sociology der American Sociology Association für ihr Buch Global Rivalries: Standards Wars and the Transnational Cotton Trade. Die Sektion Sociology of Development ehrte das Buch ebenfalls mit einer lobenden Erwähnung.

 

// Wir verabschieden Carsten Gerards. Als studentische Hilfskraft unterstützte er zwei Jahre lang unsere Forschungsgruppe und pflegte unter Anderem diese Homepage. Wir bedanken uns für den unermüdlichen Einsatz und wünschen alles Gute für die Zukunft!

 

// Weitere gute Nachrichten: Leonhard Dobusch und Jacob Kapeller erhielten für ihren Artikel “Open Strategy between Crowd and Community: Lessons from Wikimedia and Creative Commons” auf der Academy of Management 2013 den Carolyn Dexter Award for the Best International Paper.

 

// Für seine Dissertation "Financializing Poverty: The Transnational Political Economy of Microfinance's Rise and Crisis" erhält Philip Mader eine weitere Ehrung. Im Juli wurde diese mit dem ersten Preis in der Kategorie Sozialwissenschaften des Deutschen Studienpreises 2013 der Körber-Stiftung ausgezeichnet. Wir gratulieren!

 

// Nach sechs Jahren als Leiterin unserer Forschungsgruppe verlässt Sigrid Quack das MPIfG und übernimmt ab Oktober 2013 den Lehrstuhl für vergleichende Soziologie an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Ihre laufenden Projekte in Köln wird sie als assoziierte Wissenschaftlerin fortführen.
Die Mitglieder der Forschungsgruppe wünschen Ihr alles Gute und viel Erfolg für die Zukunft!

 

// Unser Forschungsgruppenmitglied Ana Alfinito Vieira wurde von den Doktoranden des MPIfG zur neuen Doktoranden-Sprecherin neben Isabella Reichert gewählt. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

 

// Wir freuen uns die Veröffentlichung unseres Blogbuches "Governance across Borders - Transnational Fields and Transversal Themes" bekanntgeben zu dürfen. In diesem Sammelband werden die zentralen Beiträge der letzten Jahre, die auf unserem erfolgreichen Forschungsgruppen-Blog erschienen sind, überarbeitet und neu strukturiert zusammengefasst. Weitere Informationen, sowie Links zur E-Book Version und dem Open Access PDF sind hier zu finden.

 

// Für seine Dissertation “Financialising Poverty: The Transnational Political Economy of Microfinance’s Rise and Crisis” wird Philip Mader mit der Otto-Hahn-Medaille der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft ausgezeichnet. Mit diesem Preis werden jährlich "junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen" geehrt.

 



MPIfG: Research Group Institution Building across Borders | http://www.mpifg.de/projects/govxborders/projects_de.asp [Last updated 31.10.2014 18:42]