History of the MPIfG

1984

The Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies (Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung, MPIfG) in Cologne is founded on November 23 by the Max Planck Society. The Max Planck Society's goal is to provide a solid basis for basic research in social sciences within its organization. The institute's founding director is Professor Renate Mayntz, Full Professor of Sociology and Director of the Institute for Applied Social Research at the University of Cologne.

1986

Professor Fritz W. Scharpf, Director at the the Social Science Research Center Berlin (WZB) from 1973 to 1984, is appointed to be the second director at the MPIfG. The institute's research focuses on internationally comparative studies of the interaction between political-administrative intervention and societal self-organization in selected sectors close to the state.

1988

The MPIfG Scientific Advisory Board is established to advise the directors on the institute's research program and to evaluate the institute's work. The board (Fachbeirat) reports to the President of the Max Planck Society.

1995

Professor Wolfgang Streeck, Professor of Sociology and Industrial Relations at the University of Wisconsin-Madison from 1988 to 1995, joins the directorate of the MPIfG. He is to succeed Professor Renate Mayntz as director at the institute when she retires two years later.

1996

The modified and expanded research program of the MPIfG focuses on the reaction of national political and societal systems of regulation to international economic and institutional integration.

1997

Professor Renate Mayntz retires in April. Professor Colin Crouch from Oxford University and the European University Institute is appointed to be an External Scientific Member of the institute. He is a distinguished international scholar whose comparative work spans sociology, political science and economics. The MPIfG Board of Trustees, whose members come from government, business and research organizations, is established to promote the exchange of ideas and information between the MPIfG and the general public.

1998

In August the MPIfG confirms its intention to remain in Cologne by moving downtown to a new building in Cologne's Südstadt. The increased office space enables the institute to host more visiting researchers and expand its involvement in international research projects.

2003

Professor Fritz W. Scharpf retires in February.

2005

Professor Jens Beckert succeeds Fritz W. Scharpf as director at the MPIfG. By appointing Beckert, the MPIfG is opening up new perspectives in the sociological study of the economy. Professor Kathleen Thelen from Northwestern University is appointed to be an External Scientific Member of the institute.

2007

In January the International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy, the first graduate program in Germany in the field of economic sociology and political economy, is jointly founded by the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies and the University of Cologne. The IMPRS-SPCE explores the relationship between the modern economy and its social and political foundations.


The study of societies can aim to define the limits and opportunities presented by trying to collectively tackle specific problems within a given institutional framework. If it succeeds, this research can have a valuable impact on modern democracies.
 
Wolfgang Streeck, Director at the MPIfG
 
Social sciences must seek to explain how social and economic macro phenomena such as events, structures and the dissolution of structures emerge from the interplay of two elements: proactive behavior that is purposive and constructive and unplanned, natural developments.
 
Renate Mayntz, Founding Director of the MPIfG
 



MPIfG - History | http://www.mpifg.de/institut/geschichte_en.asp [Last updated 02.12.2008 12:22]

Geschichte des MPIfG

 

1984

Am 23. November wird das Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung in Köln auf Beschluss des Senats der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft gegründet. Ziel ist, der sozialwissenschaftlichen Grundlagenforschung einen festen Platz in der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zu geben. Gründungsdirektorin ist Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Renate Mayntz, von 1973 bis 1985 Ordinaria für Soziologie an der Universität zu Köln und Direktorin des Instituts für angewandte Sozialforschung.
 

1986

Prof. Dr. Fritz W. Scharpf, von 1973 bis 1984 Direktor am Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung, wird als zweiter Direktor an das MPIfG berufen. Forschungsschwerpunkt des MPIfG sind international vergleichende Untersuchungen zum Zusammenwirken von staatlicher Steuerung und gesellschaftlicher Selbstregelung in staatsnahen Sektoren.
 

 

1988

Den Direktoren wird ein international zusammengesetzter Fachbeirat zur Seite gestellt. Der Fachbeirat berät die Direktoren insbesondere bei der Festlegung des Forschungsprogramms und evaluiert die Arbeit des Instituts für den Präsidenten der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft.

1995

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Streeck, von 1988 bis 1995 Professor für Soziologie und industrielle Arbeitsbeziehungen an der Universität von Wisconsin in Madison, wird in das Direktorium des MPIfG berufen. Er wird zwei Jahre später die Nachfolge von Prof. Renate Mayntz antreten.

1996

Das überarbeitete und erweiterte Forschungsprogramm des MPIfG befasst sich mit der Reaktion nationaler politischer und gesellschaftlicher Regulierungssysteme auf die internationale wirtschaftliche und institutionelle Integration.

1997

Im April wird Prof. Renate Mayntz emeritiert. Prof. Dr. Colin Crouch (Oxford/Europäisches Hochschulinstitut, Florenz) wird zum Auswärtigen Wissenschaftlichen Mitglied berufen. Er ist einer der international führenden vergleichend arbeitenden Sozialwissenschaftler, dessen Arbeiten an der Schnittstelle von Soziologie, Politikwissenschaft und Ökonomie angesiedelt sind. Ein Kuratorium mit Repräsentanten aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Forschung, das den Austausch mit der interessierten Öffentlichkeit fördern soll, wird gegründet.

1998

Im August bezieht das MPIfG sein neues Gebäude in der Kölner Südstadt und sichert damit die räumlichen Voraussetzungen für eine Fortführung der Forschungsarbeit am Standort Köln. Insbesondere kann ein umfangreiches Kooperationsprogramm mit ausländischen Wissenschaftlern nun weiter ausgebaut werden.

2003

Im Februar wird Prof. Dr. Fritz W. Scharpf emeritiert.

2005

Prof. Dr. Jens Beckert tritt die Nachfolge von Prof. Fritz W. Scharpf an. Das MPIfG setzt mit dieser Berufung neue Akzente auf dem Gebiet der sozialwissenschaftlichen Erforschung der Wirtschaft. Prof. Kathleen Thelen (Northwestern University, Evanston) wird zum Auswärtigen Wissenschaftlichen Mitglied berufen.

 

 

2007

Im Januar wird die International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE) gemeinsam vom Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung und der Universität Köln gegründet. Es ist das erste Graduiertenprogramm im Bereich der Wirtschaftssoziologie und politischen Ökonomie in Deutschland. Das zentrale Thema der IMPRS-SPCE ist die Erforschung der sozialen und politischen Grundlagen wirtschaftlichen Handelns in modernen Ökonomien.

2012

Im Oktober nimmt das Max Planck Sciences Po Center on Coping with Instability in Market Societies (MaxPo) seine Arbeit auf. Es wurde von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und der Pariser Universität Sciences Po gegründet. Als innovatives Projekt deutsch-französischer Forschungskooperation in den Sozialwissenschaften wird das Forschungszentrum die Auswirkungen zunehmender Liberalisierung, technischen Fortschritts und kultureller Veränderungen auf westliche Industriegesellschaften erforschen. Gründungsdirektorinnen sind die Soziologin Marion Fourcade und die Politikwissenschaftlerin Cornelia Woll. Die langjährige Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem MPIfG und Sciences Po wird durch die Gründung des MaxPo noch enger werden.

2014

Im Oktober wird Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Streeck emeritiert.


Eine Gesellschaftsforschung, die zur Klärung der Grenzen und Möglichkeiten der kollektiven Bearbeitung bestimmter Probleme unter gegebenen institutionellen Bedingungen beiträgt, kann einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Praxis moderner Demokratien leisten.
 
Wolfgang Streeck,
Direktor emeritus am MPIfG

 
Die Sozialwissenschaften müssen versuchen, gesellschaftliche ebenso wie wirtschaftliche Makrophänomene - Ereignisse, Strukturen und Strukturzusammenbrüche - aus dem Zusammenwirken absichtsvoll konstruktiven und steuernden Verhaltens mit ungeplant naturwüchsigen Entwicklungen zu erklären.
 
Renate Mayntz, Gründungsdirektorin des MPIfG
 



MPIfG - Geschichte | http://www.mpifg.de/institut/geschichte_de.asp [Zuletzt geändert am 05.11.2014 17:10]