MPIfG Scientific Advisory Board

Appointed by the president of the Max Planck Society for a 6-year term, the members of the scientific advisory board advise the institute's directors on issues affecting the research program and evaluate the institute's research output for the president of the Max Planck Society.
Prof. Nicole W. Biggart
Graduate School of Management, University of California, Davis
Prof. Frank Dobbin
Department of Sociology, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA
Prof. Geoffrey M. Hodgson
University of Hertfordshire, Hatfield
Prof. Jonas Pontusson
Département de science politique et relations internationales, Université de Genève
Prof. David Stark
Department of Sociology, Columbia University, New York
Prof. Philippe Steiner
Groupe d’Étude des Méthodes de l’Analyse Sociologique, Université Paris-Sorbonne
Prof. Richard Swedberg
Department of Sociology, Cornell University, Ithaca
Prof. Jörg Sydow
Institut für Management, Freie Universität Berlin

The Scientific Advisory Board meets every two years to evaluate the institute. Every six years, the regular evaluation is augmented by an expanded one. A small committee of experts from inside and outside the Max Planck Society is appointed to conduct the expanded evaluation.
Several Max Planck institutes working in related fields are put together in "research fields," which are then compared with research institutions in Germany and abroad that are working in related fields as well. The institutes' results are compared as are the funds spent to achieve them.

MPIfG - Scientific Advisory Board | [Last updated 05.03.2014 16:28]