Doctoral Program


 

IMPRS-SPCE – International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy


 
The Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies (MPIfG) offers qualified graduate students an attractive research environment at the International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE), a PhD program offered jointly with the Department of Management, Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Cologne.
 
Germany’s first graduate program in economic sociology and political economy, the IMPRS-SPCE welcomes outstanding doctoral students of political science, sociology, and organization studies from Germany and abroad. Its research explores the social and political foundations of modern economies and it examines the interrelation between economic and social action. The School combines approaches from economic sociology, comparative political economy, and organizational sociology and has an international impact on the development of these fields of study.
 
The IMPRS-SPCE features international cooperation in its day-to-day work. The students, many international, benefit from stays at IMPRS-SPCE partner institutions abroad, where they meet leading scholars in their fields. Thanks to the School’s unique curriculum of seminars, colloquia, and summer schools and the opportunity to contribute actively to the intellectual life of the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies and the University of Cologne through their research projects, students acquire essential professional skills guaranteeing them the best possible start in a research career.
 

 

Cotutelle


 
Students at the IMPRS-SPCE in Cologne and the graduate program at the École doctorale de Sciences Po in Paris can pursue a double doctorate (cotutelle de thèse). Cotutelle students have research stays in Cologne and Paris and enjoy a challenging curriculum of joint seminars and colloquia.
 

 

Faculty


 
The faculty is made up of professors and associate professors from the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies and the Department of Management, Economics and Social Sciences at the University of Cologne. Two further members are affiliates from Sciences Po in Paris.
 
Professors Associate Professors Affiliated Faculty Members
 

International Partner Institutions


 
USA France Italy


The MPIfG considers international cooperation to be the most promising organizational form of comparative research. Many visiting researchers make valuable contributions to its research program.
 
The MPIfG is part of a worldwide network of research institutions and researchers working in the social sciences. It cooperates closely with several research institutes abroad.

Library

Search the MPIfG library catalog including journal articles
 

OPAC
MPIfG Library

Events

Public lectures, conferences, seminars
 

more

Job Openings

Jobs for researchers, students and trainees
 

Job Openings
Program for Visiting Researchers



MPIfG - Doctoral Program IMPRS-SPCE | http://www.mpifg.de/forschung/postdoc_program_en.asp [Last modified 2014-03-27 13:16]

Doktorandenprogramm


 

IMPRS-SPCE – International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy


 
Das Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung (MPIfG) bietet eine attraktive Forschungsumgebung für qualifizierte Postgraduierte in der International Max Planck Research School on the Social and Political Constitution of the Economy (IMPRS-SPCE). Die IMPRS-SPCE ist eine vom MPIfG und der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität zu Köln gemeinsam getragene internationale Doktorandenschule.
 
Die IMPRS-SPCE ist das erste Graduiertenprogramm im Bereich der Wirtschaftssoziologie und politischen Ökonomie in Deutschland. Hier arbeiten besonders begabte deutsche und ausländische Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden der Politikwissenschaften, der Wirtschaftssoziologie und der Organisationssoziologie zusammen. Forschungsschwerpunkt des Doktorandenprogramms sind die sozialen und politischen Grundlagen moderner Ökonomien. Untersucht werden die komplexen Beziehungen zwischen wirtschaftlichem und sozialem Handeln. Das Forschungsprogramm verbindet Ansätze der neuen Wirtschaftssoziologie, der vergleichenden politischen Ökonomie und der Organisationssoziologie. Die IMPRS-SPCE setzt international wesentliche Impulse zur Entwicklung dieser zentralen Forschungsbereiche.
 
Im Arbeitsalltag der IMPRS-SPCE hat die internationale Zusammenarbeit einen besonders hohen Stellenwert. Ein hoher Anteil der Doktoranden kommt aus dem Ausland. Bei Forschungsaufenthalten an den internationalen Partnerinstituten der IMPRS-SPCE kommen die Nachwuchswissenschaftler mit den bedeutendsten Forschern auf ihrem Gebiet zusammen. Ein spezielles Lehrprogramm aus Seminaren, Kolloquia und Summerschools sowie die enge Einbindung in aktuelle Forschungsarbeiten des Max-Planck-Instituts für Gesellschaftsforschung und der Universität garantieren die bestmögliche Qualifizierung für eine berufliche Laufbahn in der Forschung.
 

 

Cotutelle


 
Doktoranden der IMPRS-SPCE können in einem binationalen Promotionsverfahren (Cotutelle de Thèse) die Doktortitel der französischen Universität Sciences Po und der Universität zu Köln erwerben. Im Rahmen eines Austauschprogramms verbringen die Doktoranden Forschungsaufenthalte in Köln und Paris und profitieren von einem speziellen Lehrprogramm aus gemeinsamen Seminaren und Kolloquia.
 

 

Fakultät


 
Professoren und außerordentliche Professoren des MPIfG und der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität zu Köln sowie zwei assoziierte Wissenschaftlerinnen der Sciences Po Paris:
 
Professoren Außerordentliche Professoren Assoziierte Wissenschaftlerinnen
 

Internationale Partner


 
USA Frankreich Italien
 


Die Forschungsarbeit am MPIfG findet in Projekten statt, die teils von einzelnen Wissenschaftlern, teils von international kooperierenden Forschergruppen durchgeführt werden.
 
Das MPIfG betrachtet internationale Zusammenarbeit als die aussichtsreichste organisatorische Form vergleichender Forschung. Zahlreiche Gastwissenschaftler bereichern das Forschungsprogramm.

Bibliothek

Recherchieren Sie online im Katalog.
 

Opac
Bibliothek des MPIfG

Veranstaltungen

Öffentliche Vorträge, Konferenzen, Seminare.
 

mehr

Stellenangebote


für Doktoranden und Postdoktoranden, Stipendien und Gastaufenthalte
 
Ausschreibungen
Gastwissenschaftler-
Programm



MPIfG - Doktorandenprogramm IMPRS-SPCE| http://www.mpifg.de/forschung/doc_program_de.asp [Last modified 2014-03-27 13:16]