Deutsch | Impressum   MPIfG@Twitter  MPIfG@Vimeo  RSS  Contact

Scholar in Residence at the MPIfG

Each year the MPIfG invites a distinguished scholar in the field of political science, economics or sociology to spend three to six months at the institute. Scholars in residence are known for their outstanding academic achievements and pursue a particular research project that coincides with the research conducted at the MPIfG.
Nominations and applications


Akos Rona-Tas Is Scholar in Residence 2018


Akos Rona-Tas will be the MPIfG Scholar in Residence in 2018. Rona-Tas is Professor at the Department of Sociology at the University of California, San Diego. During his stay at the MPIfG he will be offering a lecture series for which the topic is to be announced.



Past Scholars in Residence


Tim Bartley

Associate Professor in the Department of Sociology at Ohio State University, Columbus

Lucio Baccaro

Professor of Sociology at the University of Geneva, Switzerland

Robert Boyer

Economist and Associate Researcher at the Institut des Amériques, Vanves, France

Francesco Boldizzoni

Professor of economic history at the University of Turin, Italy

Patrick Le Galès

CNRS director of research at the Centre d'études européennes, Sciences Po, Paris

Arndt Sorge

Honorary Professor at the University of Potsdam

J. Nicholas Ziegler

Associate Professor of Political Science at the University of California, Berkeley

Bruno Amable

Professor of Economics at the University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne

Christoph Deutschmann

Professor of Sociology at the University of Tübingen

David Stark

Arthur Lehman Professor of Sociology and International Affairs at Columbia University

Jack Barbalet

Professor of Sociology, Hong Kong Baptist University


MPIfG - Scholar in Residence | [Last updated 2017-09-05]