Events


 
Monday, September 16, 2019 to Wednesday, September 18, 2019
The Political Economy of Public Sector Wage Setting in Europe

Donato Di Carlo
Conference
more

 
Friday, September 20, 2019 | 11:00
Micro-Segregation and the Jewish "Ghetto"
A Historical Comparison of Ethnic Economies in Germany
Martin Ruef, Duke University, Department of Sociology 
Research seminar

 
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 | 16:00
Driving Forces: History as Capitalist Development

Wolfgang Streeck
Atelier in Social Theory

 
Wednesday, October 9, 2019 | 17:00
Integrative Institutions and Mainstream Party Collapse

Jane Gingrich, Magdalen College, University of Oxford 
Public Lecture
more

 
Wednesday, October 23, 2019 | 17:00
Educating Economists
A New Curriculum
Robert Skidelsky
Public Lecture
more

 
Tuesday, October 29, 2019 | 14:30
tba


Atelier in Social Theory

 
Monday, November 4, 2019 | 17:00
The Politics of Bad Options
Why the Eurozone Crisis was so Hard to Resolve
Stefanie Walter, Universität Zürich 
Public Lecture
more

 
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 to Wednesday, November 13, 2019
The Political Economy of Law Enforcement

Matías Dewey
Workshop

 
Thursday, November 14, 2019 to Friday, November 15, 2019
Mehr als nur eine Technologie: Wie die Digitalisierung das Individuum und den Kapitalismus herausfordert
12. Institutstag des MPIfG

Public Lecture
mehr

 
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 | 17:00
After the End of History
Scholar in Residence Lectures 2019: "In Defense of Democracy"
Armin Schäfer, Universität Münster 
Public Lecture
more

 
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 | 17:00
The Wealth Effect
How The Great Expectations of the Middle Class Have Changed the Politics of Banking Crises
Jeffrey M. Chwieroth, London School of Economics and Political Science 
Public Lecture
more

 
Tuesday, November 26, 2019 | 17:00
When Representation Fails
Scholar in Residence Lectures 2019: "In Defense of Democracy"
Armin Schäfer, Universität Münster 
Public Lecture
more

 
Monday, December 2, 2019 | 16:00
tba


Atelier in Social Theory

 
Tuesday, December 3, 2019 | 17:00
The Populist Revolt
Scholar in Residence Lectures 2019: "In Defense of Democracy"
Armin Schäfer, Universität Münster 
Public Lecture
more

 
Wednesday, December 11, 2019 | 17:00
The Code of Capital
How the Law Creates Wealth and Inequality
Katharina Pistor, Columbia Law School 
Public Lecture
more

 
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 | 11:00
tba


Atelier in Social Theory

 
Tuesday, February 4, 2020 | 11:00
tba


Atelier in Social Theory

 

Types of events



 

Public lectures

are open to MPIfG researchers and the interested public. If you want to attend, please sign up at the reception desk in advance:
Tel: 0221 2767-0

 

Institute seminars, Research seminars, Inhouse lectures

can be project presentations or reports on completed projects.
- not open to the public -
 

Workshops, Conferences

are academic meetings with a set number of participants who are invited to attend based on their expertise. Others may be able to attend if the organizers give them permission.
- not open to the public -
 

Atelier in Social Theory

is a series of informal seminar-style sessions in which MPIfG researchers present their work in progress for discussion with a regular group of participants.
- not open to the public -

 
Some of the seminars and lectures at the MPIfG are open to the public, and are designated as such. Most, however, are inhouse events that are only open to researchers at the institute. If you are especially interested in one of the inhouse events, please contact our reception desk:
Tel: +49 221 2767-0

 



MPIfG - Events | http://www.mpifg.de/aktuelles/veranstaltungen_en.asp [Last updated 2019-09-11]