2015-05-15Lukas Haffert

Lukas Haffert to Receive Otto Hahn Medal 2014

Lukas Haffert will receive the Max Planck Society's 2014 Otto Hahn Medal for his dissertation "Freiheit von Schulden - Freiheit zur Gestaltung? Die politische Ökonomie von Haushaltsüberschüssen," which takes a political economy approach to determining whether budget surpluses enhance countries’ capacity to govern. Haffert’s analysis of countries that ran budget surpluses for several years shows that not even substantial surpluses can put a halt to the increasing erosion of states’ capacity to govern effectively. Each year, the Max Planck Society (MPG) honors a small number of young researchers from its institutes for their outstanding scholarly achievement. The Otto Hahn Medal comes with a cash prize of 7,500 euros and is intended to motivate especially gifted young researchers to pursue careers in research or higher education. It will be awarded during the Max Planck Society’s Annual Meeting in Berlin in June 2015. A doctoral researcher at the MPIfG from 2010 to 2014, Lukas Haffert is now a Max Weber Fellow at the European University Institute in Florence.



The Specter of Ungovernability: Conference on Concepts of Political Governance since the 1970s

Social scientists and historians met at the MPIfG from 23-24 April, 2015, to discuss historical debates and diagnoses of ungovernability and ideas of good government and policy-making since the 1970s. The aim was to examine the shifts in ideas and forms of government action from the erosion of planning optimism during the 1970s up to the present day. Key concepts on good government were discussed as well as new forms of governmentality and self-governance. The event was organized by Ariane Leendertz (a research group leader at the MPIfG), Martin Geyer (University of Munich), and Ulrich Bröckling (University of Freiburg). Conference program




Financialization: Joint Workshop between the MPIfG and Sciences Po

In April 2015, Sciences Po and the MPIfG held a joint workshop in Cologne as part of the "States and Markets" series. The workshop on "Politics and Society in the Age of Financialization" was attended by some twenty political and social scientists from Germany and France. They presented their findings on the effects of the financial crisis on the economy, state, and society as well as the possibilities for regulating financial markets. The workshop was organized by Jens Beckert, Director at the MPIfG, and Olivier Godechot, Codirector at the Max Planck Sciences Po Center on Coping with Instability in Market Societies (MaxPo) in Paris. more




Jens Beckert Is External Faculty Affiliate at Columbia University

Since March 2015, Jens Beckert has been an External Faculty Affiliate at the Center on Organizational Innovation at Columbia University, New York. The center is headed by David Stark and is part of the Institute for Social and Economic Research and Policy. It promotes research and experimentation on new forms of collaboration, communication, and coordination provided by the emerging interactive technologies. Columbia University has been a partner institute to the MPIfG for many years.



Media and
Public Relations Contact

Christel Schommertz
Tel. 0221 2767-130

For the Media

News from the MPIfG by E-Mail and Regular Mail

Would you like to be notified about our new publications and brochures, or about upcoming events at the MPIfG? Sign up for our newsletters. 

MPIfG Newsletters & Mailings

MPIfG - News | http://www.mpifg.de/aktuelles/nachrichten_en.asp [Last updated 2014-01-16 13:48]